Empathy- the most tiring emotion

How would you feel?

How would you feel?

I have a problem. I have, somehow, over the years, developed an overwhelming sense of empathy. Now, some would say this is a good thing. Yes, yes, it’s all well and good to be able to show sympathy and make somebody feel better in a not-so-great place. But it’s getting out of control. I’m serious- spiralling endlessly.

I am not the most emotional person by any means. Sometimes, I prefer to just listen to some depressing music than talk about what is bothering me (Don’t laugh, I bet you do it too…). But there is one side of my emotions which are just crazy. My empathy. For those who may be a little hazy of what I’m jabbering on about, here is what the ol’ wise fountain of knowledge Wikipedia says about it…

“Empathy is the capacity to recognize emotions that are being experienced by another sentient or fictional being. One may need to have a certain amount of empathy before being able to experience compassion.”

So, basically, I have a problem of feeling other people’s issues as though they are my own. And I just get so overwhelmed in their problems as though they are my own, that I then get down about somebody elses dilemmas. Conveniently leaving me with my own.

But it is not longer just people. Yes, the episodes of Extreme Makeover: Home Edition, (sometimes) Eastenders and the sad C4 Bodyshock documentaries tear me up something chronic, but recently it’s moved on from people. It’s understandable to feel sympathetic for people, but for objects… This is getting silly.

I do feel sorry for it if one of my socks has fallen off the radiator… it might get lonely. And I don’t like a messy room because things might feel out of place…

My name is Bianca, and I have an object-empathy problem; of the severe variety. I know it sounds stupid, but give me a crying child, a homeless man or even a crumpled up magazine and a little slice of my heart will go out to them. That’s not even a joke.

Yes, I am one of those with such supersonic empathy powers that I can experience, according to Wikipedia, compassion. Perhaps I should look on the bright side, and advise people with crippling issues to comes my way. We can both have a cry. Just call me Bea the Compassionate….

or tell me to get a grip?

2 thoughts on “Empathy- the most tiring emotion

  1. Lack of power is your dilemma. Accept that you are powerless over people, places and things, result, a happier and more peaceful self. Here endeth the lesson!

  2. Pingback: Who Am I? | THE SCARECROW

Leave a Reply

