Dear Chavs, I have some questions…

Typical chavs

Typical chavs

So I’m going to be a huge hypocrite here, and contradict myself. But bare with me. I have written blogs before regarding stereotyping and how it’s bad, even of chavs. But I’ve never talked about what if people almost play into their stereotypes? There are so many different social groups, and it seems society is just a big cliche. All the ‘individuals’ are now in a huge crowd of ‘individuals’, ironically all the same.

But I’m not digging at indie hipster kids this time. No, this time, I’m discussing the social phenomenon of CHAVS. For those who are unaware of the origins of the word, here are a few explanations.

  • Stands for COUNCIL HOUSE AND VIOLENT – Huge generalization, true. But also reflects the social culture, starting in the late 2000s. 
  • The stereotype was popularised in the British mass media to refer to working-class youth subculture 
  • The term has origins from the Romany word ‘chavi’

So, after being used for the first time in newspapers in 2002, the term chav has a nationwide understanding, recognised by the majority of people. Key words associated with ‘chavs’ could include: tracksuit, low trousers, trainers, Burberry caps, Rosary beads, Nike tiny little bags, young mums, Jeremy Kyle, fag in hand…

But, after more than a decade of the evolving sterotyped clique, the trend has changed before our very eyes. (Well, I say this, I’m basing most of this on Bedford so… it’s not hugely representative!) With the introduction of the indie hipster trends with the over-filled rails and racks of shops such as TOPMAN, Jack Wills and A&F, not to mention the ‘vintage’ trend, younger generations of would-be chavs are moving away from the trackies and firmly planting their feet through mustard chinos and into some navy Vans. Gross.

But it’s not the new generation Chavs that I wanna direct my queries to- it’s the strong standing old school Chavs who’re still wandering the streets…

Picture the scene: I’m in the bus station, and a group of girls in tight velour are sat a few metres away, smoking in the bus station like it’s cool, swearing loudly whilst kids are present, and discussing rather inappropriate and disgusting to think of sexual stories. I mean really, is there ANY self respect there. So, here starts my questions.

Now, their attire. Not just the girls, also of the lads who ‘bop’ up to them, mirroring the swearing and rather disgusting conversations. There’s trackies, loitering around the knee region, with shorts on underneath. There are clashing tacky prints flying about ALL over the shop, and some rather nasty and bobbly knitted hoody-type things.

But that’s not all. Aside from the caps on sideways, the ‘bling’ from Argos (Nothing against Argos FYI) and the fag-in-hand air of cool, they also don some very decorative Rosary beads.

  1. Do you realise how unladylike and common you look and sound?
  2. Do you own a mirror? If yes, then why do you proceed to leave the house?
  3. Are you Catholic? You do realise that Rosary beads aren’t just a fashion accessory? Ok…

Okay, so I’m having a rant, and I’m being judgmental and mean. But, really, if you’re going to act as the stereotype you fit into dictates… then… you aren’t really helping yourself, are you? I think the problem I had with this particular group on the particular occasion is their behaviour. Smoking indoors, swearing around kids and just indulging the whole station into their gory drunken sex antics is just NOT what I want to be around, nor would I want my little brothers and sisters to experience that.

So, if you happen to be one of the culprits, displaying any of these behaviours; please stop. For everyone’s sakes. Feeling like I’m in a live show of Jeremy Kyle isn’t what I wanna feel like whilst waiting for my late bus after a day of work. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

