Kind regards, a stranger xxx

This is me (well...) when I get an email starting Dear Binaca and ending in 'xxx'.

This is me (well… you get the idea) when I get an email starting Dear Binaca and ending in ‘xxx’.

SO I send a lot of emails at work, to a lot of different people. Emails are a pretty integral part of my busy newsdesk day so, they’re rather crucial. I’m pretty used to email etiquette now, what to do and not do; things I should and should (definitely) not say.

I’m afraid I cannot say this for everybody who I have the misfortune of receiving emails from.
The time has come that I share my top tips for emailing. This isn’t because I think I’m an office goddess who knows how to work the desk and wheely chair combination, oh no. This is because I get some emails that simply infuriate me…

1. If you’re addressing the email to me, don’t spell my name wrong. 
What I mean by that is this. My name is not Binaca. Nor Beanca. Or even Binca. You are spending energy on emailing me in the first place, so please just go that tiny inch further and GET MY NAME RIGHT.

2. Remember your capital letters.
Now, I refuse to believe there’s people in the business world, or in fact anyone who knows how to work a PC, who don’t understand the working function of a capital letter. Or where they’re appropriate. Like my (correctly) spelt name and in fact, your name at the bottom. Don’t be an amateur.

3. Remind yourself you do not know me. Do not add kisses. 
This is often a topic of conversation in the office. If you aren’t my boyfriend, best friend, or actually my Mum, then don’t add a cheeky ‘xx’ onto the end of the email. You wouldn’t kiss me, let’s be honest. Yes, yes, you might be used to doing it with texts to the ‘bestie’, but I am not your best friend. In fact, I’m not even your friend. So bore off with your kisses and be a bit more professional.

4. Don’t call me your ‘love’. You do not know me, let alone LOVE me. 
It’s just a turn of phrase, a generic term some people refer to others as. Similar to ‘darling’, and that’s just not allowed. Some people lack the professional marbles in their little heads, that forget who/where they are communicating with. Please get a grip and remember what you’re doing.

So please people, PLEASE. If you’re a serial emailer, at work or at home, don’t be a dick. Don’t make typos or add kisses. Coz everyone in the other office is LOLing at you. Get a grip.

Leave a Reply

